Skip to content

10 questions with ... Erik Rossi

Erik Rossi is our mobile middle school advisor. He graduated from Central High School in 2011 and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in human development and family studies from the University of Rhode Island in 2015. Prior to joining our advisory staff, he served as a peer advisor at URI and as a case worker for children and teens with developmental and physical disabilities.

1. What are the most challenging and most rewarding parts of being a mobile advisor?

One of the most challenging things about being a mobile advisor is maintaining student relationships. Some of our students are scattered all throughout Rhode Island and are not around other Crusaders. Every student has their own unique situation and as an advisor, I have to be understanding and meet students at their level. One of the most rewarding things about being a mobile advisor is being able to carry out our mission and allowing it to flourish through students who do not belong to our regular schools.

2. Before the pandemic, your mom opened a restaurant. What’s your favorite dish of hers?    

One of my favorite things that my mom makes is pupusas. It is a cheese-filled tortilla and sometimes it is mixed with meats or vegetables. My favorite kind is one that is filled with cheese and a special kind of edible flower called loroco!

3. What kind of music is your usual soundtrack?

I like to listen to a lot of old school rap such as Tupac and Biggie. Sometimes the occasional Linkin Park is needed for the soul. I also like to listen to a lot of electric dance music when I am working out. When I am trying to be productive with something, I like to listen to a lot of lo-fi music.

4. When you were 10 years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was 10 years old, I wanted to be a video game developer and help create and test new games.

5. Name one thing you knocked off your bucket list and one thing that’s still on it.

One thing that I knocked off of my bucket list was visiting the ancient ruins of Tikal in Guatemala. I always have wanted to visit the pyramids and I finally had a chance to go see them! It was a great experience and I would love to go back because there is still so much more there that I did not get to completely explore. One thing that is still on my bucket list is scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef!

6. What’s your dream travel destination once it’s safe again?

One place that I would like to travel to is Laos, the country where my wife’s family is from! I love the food from there and I would love to try all the authentic dishes.

7. What is one thing most people might not know about you? Any unusual skills or talents?

One of my favorite hobbies is going fishing. I love going to new fishing spots and I think that it is very relaxing and therapeutic, especially being by the water.

8. Is your favorite time of day sunrise, daytime, sunset or nighttime and why?

I like seeing the sunrise! There is nothing like it. During some fishing trips, I would always try to plan to go before the sun rises. I think that it is a great way to start your day.

9. Pick a superpower: invisibility or flight and why?

I would pick flight. I would have the ability to travel anywhere and go at any time.

10. What’s your life motto or favorite saying?

One of my life mottos is to live your life through shared experiences, meaning to create or find unique opportunities to share with friends, family and peers. Life is more enjoyable and meaningful if you’re able to experience it with people who are important to you!